

Minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting of Equestrian Queensland Incorporated held at 6.30 PM on Wednesday, 17 March, 2021 at Sports House, 150 Caxton Street, Milton and via ZOOM

1.0 Welcome

The Branch Chair, David Finch, welcomed all Members to the 2020 Annual General Meeting of Equestrian Queensland. The meeting was declared open at 6.35pm having the required quorum present. The Chair opened the meeting and reflected on the achievements of EQ and its members, thanked the volunteers in the sport and the Equestrian Queensland Board for their support in his time as Chair and welcomed the new Board members who with their expertise and experience would drive the sport forward.

2.0 Attendance and Apologies

Members

Anna Starosta (in person)

Anita Barton (in person)

Sally Devlin (in person)

David Finch (in person)

Corey Keable (in person)

Nicholas Ballard (in person)

Manage Maplicage in person

Gary Lung (in person)

Karen Herald (ZOOM)

Susan Austin (in person)

Corby Cunnington (ZOOM)

Lesley Brodbeck (ZOOM)

Lisa Holland (ZOOM)

Naomi Lockhart (in person) Anne McDiarmid (in person) Kristy Battista (in person) Jacqui Huppert (in person) Russell Davidson (ZOOM) Kerri-Lee Ryder (in person) Lisa Gall (ZOOM) Lesley Sullivan (ZOOM) Sonya Wyeth (ZOOM) Peter Toft (ZOOM) Cathi Collier (in person) Sharon Goss (ZOOM) Clinton Peters (in person) Glenis Cox (ZOOM) Jane Harms (in person) Frances Bischof (ZOOM) David Holland (in person) Leesa Murray (ZOOM) Nic Koroloff (ZOOM) Graeme Watts (ZOOM) Brett Cantle (ZOOM) Liz Owens (ZOOM) Trudy Dougall (ZOOM) Tracey Sexton (ZOOM)

Guest:

Rik Kumlin (Redshed Business Advisors)

Apologies

Madeleine Graham Irene Bakels-Noreen Madonna Bell

In attendance

Samantha Duffy Briston Toft

3.0 Confirmation of Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting

The Minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting of the Equestrian Queensland held on March 18, 2020, having been circulated, were taken as read.

Motion 1: -

"That the Minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting be confirmed as a true and correct record."

Moved: Jacqui Huppert Seconded: Nicholas Ballard CARRIED: 19.AGM.01

4.0 Presentation and Adopting of the 2020 Audited Financial Statements

The 2020 Audited Accounts were pre-circulated to the membership on 11 March, 2020 and published on the Equestrian Queensland website. There were no questions from members present regarding the Audited Financial Statements.

Motion 2: -

"That the 2020 Audited Financial Statements of Equestrian Queensland be approved."

Moved: Susan Austin Seconded: Naomi Lockhart CARRIED: 19.AGM.02

5.0 Presentation and Adoption of the 2020 Annual Report

The Chairperson tabled the 2020 Annual Report and noted inclusion of reports including the Chair, Treasurer, CEO and each of the seven Equestrian Queensland Sport Committees.

Motion 3: -

"That the 2020 Annual Report of the Equestrian Queensland be received and adopted."

Moved: Cathi Collier Seconded: Anita Barton CARRIED: 19.AGM.03

6.0 Special Resolution

Pursuant to Clause 17.3 of the Equestrian Queensland Constitution, it was recommended by the Board of Equestrian Queensland that Honorary Life Membership be conferred to Mary Seefried for distinguished service to equestrian in Queensland.

The AGM notice and papers included a rational for Honorary Life Membership for Mary Seefried.

Voting on the Special Resolution was conducted by secret digital ballot and was unanimously supported by all members present, with Honorary Life Membership conferred to Mary Seefried.

7.0 Election of Office Bearers

As per the notice issued to Members on 17 February 2020, nominations for the Equestrian Queensland Board and the Sport Committees closed on Friday 5 February, 2021. Elections are only held for the Board and/or Sport Committees where the number of nominees exceeds the number of vacancies.

Nominations for the Equestrian Queensland Board, Eventing Queensland, Interschool Queensland and Show Horse Queensland exceed the two vacancies available and were subject to an election.

Equestrian Queensland Board

There were four nominations for the two positions on the Equestrian Queensland Board.

Gary Lung and David Holland were elected to the Equestrian Queensland Board for a three year term.

Eventing Queensland

There were three nominations for Eventing Queensland.

Brett Cantle and Lesley Brodbeck were elected to the Eventing Queensland committee for a three year term.

Lisa Gall was appointed to a casual vacancy on the Eventing Queensland committee for a one year term.

Interschool Queensland

There were five nominations for Interschool Queensland.

Claire Power and Emily Ballard were elected to the Interschool Queensland for a three year term.

Matthew Ostwald was appointed to a casual vacancy on the Interschool Queensland committee for a one year term.

In consultation with the Interschool Queensland committee, Megan Drynan and Patrick Lowe were co-opted onto the Interschool Queensland committee for a one year term.

Show Horse Queensland

There were five nominations for Show Horse Queensland.

Melanie Wellsteed and Sharon Goss were elected to the Show Horse Queensland committee for a three year term.

Janine Shepherdson was appointed to a casual vacancy on the Show Horse Queensland Committee for a two year term

Mary MacMillan was appointed to a casual vacancy on the Show Horse Queensland committee for a one year term.

Dressage Queensland

There were two nominations for Dressage Queensland.

Nicole Magoffin and Anne McDiarmid were elected unopposed to the Dressage Queensland committee for a three year term.

Jumping Queensland

There were two nominations for Jumping Queensland.

Madeleine Graham and Graeme Watts were elected unopposed to the Jumping Queensland committee for a three year term.

Vaulting Queensland

There was one nomination for Vaulting Queensland

Lisbeth Betts was elected unopposed to the Vaulting Queensland committee for a three year term.

Driving Queensland

There was one nomination for Driving Queensland

Patricia Nolan was elected unopposed to the Drving Queensland committee for a three year term.

Expressions of interest may be called to fill any outstanding vacancies on the Equestrian Queensland Sport Committees.

Moved: Jane Harms Seconded: Naomi Lockhart CARRIED: 19.AGM.04

D Finch congratulated all those who were elected.

8.0 Appointment of Branch Auditor

Motion 5: -

"Moore Australia, be appointed as the EQ Branch Auditors."

Moved: Susan Austin Seconded: Jacqui Huppert CARRIED: 19.AGM.05

9.0 Closure

The Chairperson thanked everyone for their attendance and declared the meeting closed at 7.00pm.